top of page

The Nakamichi ZX-7


My Nakamichi ZX-7 back from Willy Hermann

"While some audiophiles complain about the high cost of components in the 21 Century, back in 1981 when Nakamichi introduced the ZX-7, it had a retail price of $1,250. That’s right, $1,250 for a cassette deck. The first generation of CD players had just hit the market and they sounded awful, and reel-to-reel tape recorders were headed out the door as well. Much like any technology, the cassette deck was discontinued just as it had reached the peak of its development." Financial Spot Unfortunately this has been the story of the audiocassette demise: once it reached the absolute top, out it went!

"Since its introduction, Nakamichi ZX7 cassette deck is a very special analogue recording/playback component, pre-dating by two years and contributing to the technological foundation of the refined and highly esteemed Nakamichi ZX9 cassette deck. The Nakamichi ZX7 was a leap forward technologically by Nakamichi of Japan, who had created advanced computer assisted cassette decks like the 700ZXL and 1000ZXL, albeit, at a very expensive cost. But then in 1982, the Nakamichi ZX7 was introduced worldwide and immediately revered by audio critics as a milestone in cassette deck use! An audio cassette deck that was loaded with professional features and quite affordable by the discerning yet cost conscientious audio enthusiast. The Nakamichi ZX7 comes with an assortment of manual calibration controls, including adjustable azimuth and bias recording adjustment, Dolby noise reduction, extra durable tape transport system with dual capstan drive, and discrete record/monitor/playback head system. Some of the most precise technical specifications Nakamichi ever designed into a commercial cassette deck! The Nakamichi ZX7 provides "features" that enable the user to attain perfect recordings every time. The recording head azimuth, recording bias, and levels can be optimally calibrated before starting a recording." analog-stereo.com Yep! I have to agree. This machine was right at the epitome of the cassette deck era and Nakamichi made an statement with it. Imagine in 1981 a cassette deck costing over $1,200 ! Definitely not everyone could have one of these gems and that's why today this machine is more popular than ever.

On the used market, you can still grab one in good condition for a mere $500.00 A totally rebuilded one from Willy Hermann, could raise the ticket up to $1,000.00 ! Not bad for a 30+ years old machine. I serviced mine for less than $500.00 and now its specs are better than when new. This machine blows away my recently serviced Revox B 215S, my Nakamichi CR 7 and my 700 ZXE. No doubt about it, and let me tell you: at this level we are talking just about subttle differences only. Nothing abysmal here, as some of the so called "golden ears" claims. When you insert a nice TDK Metal cassette tape, adjusted it properly and with a good a demanding recording material, hold on to your pants! I have driven her up to 8db+ without a single hint of distortion! She can easily handle anything you throw at it with precision and finese. It does this so well that I have totally forgot my recently sold ZX-9. With a properly serviced ZX 7 there's no need to spend over $1,200 on a used ZX-9. That's it; if you are lucky because I have seen these beauties selling for up to $1,600.00 !!!! I wouldn't pay that for a cassette deck these days, but some people will and that conduct has contribute to the price crazyness at "fleabay". You have to be careful about this because if you decide to sell it later, you would never get your total investment back!

How would I compare my ZX 7 to my ZX 9? Both are excellent machines, but the ZX 9 will always carry that mistic title of the "best Nak ever". Nakamichi used to have 32 of these at their real time duplication office in California. It has been said that even their techs refer to her as "the best". Well, the ZX 7 was its predecessor and I don't find any substantial difference in sound as to justify the actual price difference. The ZX-9, besides the "quasi" direct drive transport, it's just a "hot rod" ZX 7, like a Revox PR 99 is just a "hot rod" version of the fabled B-77. They say that they manualy choose the parts to be used in their ZX 9 and so on...yeah,right! They all suffer from the same orange cap disease, as the ZX 7 and Dragon too, so, why bother? The only significant difference I found is the transport. That's all. The rest is almost the same. The sound? Well, people claims to hear "deeper soundstage" and more "liquid highs" on the ZX 9, while some others hear "tighter bass" and all the rest of the famous "high end" audio lex. When I compared both head to head it was really difficult to distinguish one from the other. And this was before my ZX 7 was serviced! Well, sometimes this is just "audiofila nervosa" of people justifying paying twice for something not needed. Ha! And please; don't misunderstand me. The ZX 9 still a hair better and it's perhaps the best sounding NAK among all, but...you know the rest. Do I want to have a ZX 9 again? Yes! Of course, but only if I find one properly priced. Do I need one? NOPE, but for collection purposes it's always a nice addition. Do I choose the 9 over the 7? Nahhhh, not now. I could be perfectly happy with either one knowing that I'm not sacrificing the quality of my recordings in any sense.

Against my beloved Revox B215S? For many years I favored Revox components over Nakamichi or any recorder out there for many reasons. Revox sound is always more "flat" and "natural" for me. Similar to the Tandberg's. The transport is the only real "direct drive" in the industry, but the rest of the electronics and heads are not up to the same standard and this is where the B 215 falls short to Nakamichi, specifically to the ZX sisters. After Perry Esposito from Virginia restored my B 215S, it became my main recording machine mainly because everything recorded on my Revox sounded excellent anywhere else, specifically on any of my Nakamichis: my Dragon twins, CR 7, 700 ZXE, ZX 9 and ZX 7. Even on my former TEAC Z Series behemoths too! This excrement of "you have to record on a Nak, to be played back on a Nak" is simply bullshit! The tapes done on the Revox sounds better on my Naks and that is a fact! After receiving the ZX 7 back from Willy, it immediately replaced my Revox as the main cassette recording gear. No doubt about it. And the thing is that any recordings made there, sounds superb at my Revox too. Enough for the Nak compatibility and legendary misconception.

My ZX 7 recording some nice stuff.

The fabled ZX 9. From a Nakamichi brochure.

Conclussions: Don't led anybody decide for yourself. There's a lot of bull's going around these days and many persons claim to be a "golden ear" or an "audio God". I don't care about what others say because at the end I only trust my ears and my ears only. Audio is highly subjective and in all kind of hobbies you'll find people who prefer "this over that" simply because brand loyalty or "cult" following. Some others criticize this model over that simply because they don't have enough funds to obtain it. Envy runs rampant everywhere and audio is not an exception. One thing is for sure: Nakamichi revolutionized the cassette deck and those who denies it don't even have the slightest idea what is this is all about! Just close your eyes and imagine, simply imagine, the audio cassette history without Nakamichi. Yeah, it could be said that they did some "eq" tricks here or there and "tweak" all the audio standards of the era,etc..but who cares? As far as I know, the only ones who complain about it were the competitors that couldn't keep up with them. As simple as that and history has proven Nakamichi right!

SO, the next time you wish to hear, use and play with one of the best cassette deks ever made grab a ZX 7, insert a tape in it, hit the play button and forget about all the bullshit that comes and go in audio.

ENJOY!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page